The Edward S. Shapiro Mid-Career Scholar Research Initiative (MCSRI) is designed to support and facilitate the research future of mid-career scholars.  The primary purpose of this initiative is to provide mentorship toward the acquisition of external funding through federal and foundation resources. Persons eligible to become Shapiro Mid-Career Scholars under this initiative are defined as individuals between two and ten years post-tenure and currently at the rank of Associate Professor or equivalent.  Eligible individuals not in an academic position would be those who are not at an equivalent number of years post-degree, usually between 10 to 17 years post-doctoral degree.  Scholars will not have been successful in seeking external funding for projects budgeted at $100,000 per year or greater but need to have shown evidence of progress toward this type of grant application process. Please note that it is SSSP’s policy that no indirect costs (IDC) will be allocated for the Edward S. Shapiro Mid-Career Scholar Research Initiatives. Requests for proposals are announced on major school psychology listservs in August.

Click here for the 2024 Shapiro Mid-Career Scholar Research Award.

Previous Recipients


  • Devadrita Talapatra, University of Denver, (Mentor-Andrew Roach). “Exploring educational and social disparities affecting youth with intellectual disabilities (ID)”


  • Julia Ogg, Northern Illinois University, (Mentor-James DiPerna). “A Universal Program to Improve Academic Enabling Behaviors”


  • Colleen O’Neal, University of Maryland, (Mentor: Sylvia Rosenfeld). “A mixed-methods study of the cultural competence and inclusive socioemotional supports of school personnel ( e.g., school psychologists, counselors) around immigrant students in the evolving context of COVID-19.” $4000.00
  • Elizabeth McKenney, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, (Mentor-Lisa Sanetti). “The universal nature of school psychologists’ skills, and methods to ensure that those skills are employed toward the goals of contemporary education.” $4000.00


  • Milena Keller-Margulis, (Mentor: Steve Graham).
  • Sterett Mercer, (Mentor: Steve Graham).


  • Alicia Fedewa, (Mentor: Thomas Power).


  • Robin Codding, (Mentor: Karen Stoiber).
  • Robert Volpe, (Mentor: Steve Evans).